Ornery.org
  Front Page   |   About Ornery.org   |   World Watch   |   Guest Essays   |   Contact Us

The Ornery American Forum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Ornery American Forum » Ornery U » Ornery U: Road Construction

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Ornery U: Road Construction
nemes_ie
Member # 804

- posted      Profile for nemes_ie   Email nemes_ie   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Ben-

I'm starting this thread as a placeholder. I'm actually getting married next week, so not available for long discussions (under pressure [Frown] )- i'll get back to this as soon as I can.

Bear in mind, as well, that I'm a construction engineer, not a design engineer. My role is to implement the design on the ground, as near as is possible and ecoonomically feasible. Therefore, my knowledge of the exact design criteria, if thats what you are interested in, is limited- I need enough to spot if something is obviously wrong, as opposed to being able to produce something that is "right" from scratch.

Finally, I live and work in Ireland. There may well be significant differences in design, financing, procurement and standards between Ireland and the US, due to- weather, state control levels, EU public tendering rules, expected traffic loads, available materials, etc.

In any casee, anything that I can do, I will.

Best

G

Posts: 312 | Registered: Oct 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Ben
Member # 1153

- posted      Profile for Ben   Email Ben   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Ok, no pressure to do anything soon, take a month before replying or heck even the whole summer. I know I was a bit out of touch when I got married myself.