Ornery.org
  Front Page   |   About Ornery.org   |   World Watch   |   Guest Essays   |   Contact Us

The Ornery American Forum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Ornery American Forum » General Comments » "Ignoring" posts

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: "Ignoring" posts
Jordan
Member # 2159

- posted      Profile for Jordan   Email Jordan   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
First, I have to admit that G2 went up about 120% in my estimation when I discovered that he:
  1. has installed Greasemonkey; and
  2. knows enough about Javascript and the DOM to write a script to ignore users, or at least to modify an existing one.
But then, I'm a professional web developer, so code is a quick way to my heart. [Smile]

At any rate, the reason I started this thread was to ask: what do people think of actually choosing to ignore certain posters entirely? By which I mean, not simply avoiding their posts, but actually choosing to expunge them from threads completely so that one never has to read or respond to them?

Personally, I think it's a loathsome idea in principle and a splendid possibility in practise. On the one hand, saying that there are people whose opinions are so odious, or their contributions to meaningful discussion so meagre, that it is actually legitimate to eliminate them from all consideration once struck me as a particularly cruel and emphatic arrogance. On the other hand, it would go a long way to improving civility if certain posters with a unique "dynamic" going on weren't able to read each other's responses.