Ornery.org
  Front Page   |   About Ornery.org   |   World Watch   |   Guest Essays   |   Contact Us

The Ornery American Forum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Ornery American Forum » General Comments » Question for Christians

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Question for Christians
Adam Masterman
Member # 1142

- posted      Profile for Adam Masterman   Email Adam Masterman   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Did Jesus preach an apocalyptic Gospel? Was He an apocalyptic thinker?

The context is a (mild) renewed interest in John Crossan's work. I studied him in college, agreed then and agree now that Jesus was an historical figure who preached a sapiential or "realized" eschatology. IOW, the "Kingdom of God" He spoke of was not a future event, but a hidden reality.

Obviously there is a lot of context around that idea, but I am interested to hear from self-identified followers of Jesus as to which (if either) eschatology Jesus taught (personal interpretations as well as official church positions).

Adam

Posts: 4823 | Registered: Jul 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
edgmatt
Member # 6449

- posted      Profile for edgmatt   Email edgmatt       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I've never heard it come up like that...8 years of Catholic school, regular church visits...

The first "Apocalypse" was the flood with Noah. After that, there was a covenant between God and his people that God would never do something like that again. (The rainbow was the sign of this.)

So it doesn't make sense that Jesus would be talking of an end of days. He was teaching how to live.
I'm really just summarizing that, it's not really a good synopsis of the story. This is all my take on it, someone with a deeper understanding of the Bible and the religion might give you a better answer.