Ornery.org
  Front Page   |   About Ornery.org   |   World Watch   |   Guest Essays   |   Contact Us

The Ornery American Forum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Ornery American Forum » General Comments » Civilized Discourse

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Civilized Discourse
OrneryMod
Administrator
Member # 977

- posted      Profile for OrneryMod   Email OrneryMod   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I would like to take a little time to talk about the tone of the discussion and what each of us can do to improve it.

As many of you know, I have been serving as OrneryMod for approximately two years, and prior to me there were a handful of other members who served in this role. In discussions with the previous Mods and in my own experience, I have come to see that the vast majority of problem posts fall into two basic categories:
  1. Personal Attacks - We are here to talk about ideas. We should never attack other members personally because we don't like their ideas or if we think they are being thickheaded.
  2. Closed Mindedness - We are here to learn from one other. It is good to articulate your own ideas, but it is even more important to make sure you fully understand the ideas of other posters. If you are participating here, then you should be sincerely open to the possibility that you are wrong. If you refuse to consider the ideas of others with charity and with an open mind then you should reconsider posting at all. This is not a place for preaching; it's a place for sharing.

Our biggest issue is that we often treat each other disrespectfully when we disagree. I would like for that to change.