Ornery.org
  Front Page   |   About Ornery.org   |   World Watch   |   Guest Essays   |   Contact Us

The Ornery American Forum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Ornery American Forum » General Comments » financial advice?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: financial advice?
Sunil Carspecken
Member # 1453

- posted      Profile for Sunil Carspecken     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
(frequent lurker and infrequent poster)

I'm a college student and due to receive a large chunk of money in the near future (probably around 200,000 dollars). I know very little about finance. So if anyone has any advice or opinions I would appreciate it. I will of course take everything with a pinch of salt.

My apologies if this sort of post is innapropriate to this forum.

Posts: 333 | Registered: Jan 2004  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Gaoics79
Member # 969

- posted      Profile for Gaoics79   Email Gaoics79   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Buy low, sell high [Smile]
Posts: 7629 | Registered: Mar 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Gaoics79
Member # 969

- posted      Profile for Gaoics79   Email Gaoics79   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Seriously though, it all depends on your desired level of risk. If you want a high return, and don't mind a higher level of risk, then go with stocks. If you need this money for your grandmother's heart surgery, maybe something safer, like a GIC. Or perhaps if you want a happy medium, a Mutual Fund.
Posts: 7629 | Registered: Mar 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
WarrsawPact
Member # 1275

- posted      Profile for WarrsawPact   Email WarrsawPact   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote