Ornery.org
  Front Page   |   About Ornery.org   |   World Watch   |   Guest Essays   |   Contact Us

The Ornery American Forum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Ornery American Forum » General Comments » Commencement

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Commencement
Everard
unregistered

- posted            Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I graduated today. It was the hardest thing I've ever done, and not for reasons of course work, but for overcoming psychological blocks.

That aside, our keynote speaker today was Barak Obama. When I can find a transcript of his speech online, I will post it. It wasn't his convention speech, but it was very good, and his delivery is excellent. He struck just the right combination of humor, good advice on graduation, and politics. (Yes, we knew he would speak on politics. He's a senator. What do you want? But it wasn't the theme of his speech).

I look forward to this man running for president. He can't help but raise the level of national discourse. THere are very few politicians out there today who I feel really dig into the meat of issues, and examine them carefully, and then address their opponents on those issues respectfully.

Obama is one of them.

IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Paladine
Member # 1932

- posted      Profile for Paladine   Email Paladine   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Congratulations!
Posts: 3235 | Registered: Jul 2004  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Funean
Member # 2345

- posted      Profile for Funean   Email Funean   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Congratulations, Ev!

I certainly hope you're celebrating in some excessive fashion right now.

[Smile]

Posts: 5277 | Registered: Mar 2005  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Everard
unregistered