Author Topic: Roll Tide  (Read 3938 times)

Grant

• Members
    • View Profile
Roll Tide
« on: October 27, 2022, 11:41:36 PM »
Well, the Red Wave (TM) cometh. 

At least that is what I've been hearing for the past 12 months. 

Taking a look at 538, I see that the Democrats are just slightly favored to win the Senate now, either gaining seats or maintaining 50-50 split, and the Republicans are solidly favored to win the House, with an average of 229 seats controlled. 

Now, as waves go, a gain of +16 seats in the House of Representatives, isn't really a large wave.  It's not really surfable.  It's kinda like a Florida Keys surf.  Like something in a swimming pool if someone has a decent fart in it.  The largest midterm wave in US history was in 1938, when the Democrats lost a total of 81 seats in the House, coming down from an all time height after the 1936 election and the re-election of FDR, when the Dems controlled 75%+ of the House and almost 80% of the Senate.  Then the nation cooled on the New Deal and court packing.  Mainly northern Republicans, by the way.  Then the Republicans joined up with southern Democrats to basically put an end to the New Deal.  The Dems got a little bump with FDRs re-election in 1940, but the dizzying heights reached during the Great Depression were never to be reached again. 

Of course, it's possible that the Republicans win as many as 27 seats or more.  Still not exactly a "wave" that you could write home to momma about.  Barrack Obama lost 63 seats in 2010 thanks to the T-Party and the theft of populism by the Republican party.  That was a pretty good wave.  27 is kinda like Reagan in 1982.  Then again, the Dems have the same liklihood of actually holding the House as the Republicans have of gaining 27 seats.  Kinda sad, really.  Dark Brandon may hold more House seats than any Democrat President during their first term since JFK.